Explorer Article

Ken Vogel made his career change voluntarily -- but the instability in the oil industry certainly was a factor when he decided to move into the field of environmental geology.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
Explorer Article

Bob Cluff wasn't laid off from an oil company, but when his wife got hit by the downsizing trend and lost her job with a large independent oil firm in Denver in 1985 the couple had to make some hard choices about their future.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
Explorer Article

Jeannie Place was laid off in the mid-1980s as a result of a merger, and she and geologist husband, Blaze Cunningham, left the stressful world of big oil behind to operate a cave in her home state of Wisconsin.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
Explorer Article

Norman H. Foster, the recently announced winner of AAPG's Sidney Powers Memorial Medal for 1999, died in Denver on New Years Day following a lengthy and courageous battle against cancer. He was 64.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
Explorer Geophysical Corner

This month's column is part two of a two-part series on magnetotelluries.

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
Open Rank Professor - Geology/Subsurface Energy Systems

The Department of Geology & Geography at West Virginia University invites applications for an open-rank, tenured or tenure-track faculty position in Geology with a specialization in subsurface energy systems starting August 11, 2023. This is a 9-month, full-time position with full benefits. Candidates with research applications to sustainability challenges of the 21st century, and candidates whose research and scholarship support WVU’s land-grant mission are encouraged to apply.

Director, Energy and Minerals Group (Principal Research Scientist, Geology)

The Illinois State Geological Survey is seeking to hire a Director, Energy and Minerals Group (Principal Research Scientist, Geology) to provide leadership, clear scientific vision, and direction to the sub-disciplines and staff members who comprise the Energy and Minerals Group, facilitate coordination, communication, and teamwork throughout the Survey, PRI, and with other components of the University.

Timothy Olaf Nesheim Timothy Olaf Nesheim President (2022-2023) ND Geological Survey 701-777-2460
Anna Sheldon Phelps Anna Sheldon Phelps Past President (2022-2023) SM Energy (303) 837-2484
Riley Brinkerhoff Riley Brinkerhoff President Elect (2022-2023) SM Energy
Brianna  Berg Brianna Berg Secretary Treasurer Elect (2022-2023) AIM GeoAnalytics 4059216649
Clayton  Schultz Clayton Schultz Secretary Treasurer (2022-2023) SM Energy

The House of Delegates of the AAPG is made up of delegates from affiliated societies and international regions throughout the world. They are selected by popular vote from within their respective areas and serve a three year term.

Who Is My Delegate?

NOTE: Membership in an affiliated society does not necessarily constitute membership in the AAPG and vice versa.

Learn more about affiliated societies of the AAPG

States in the Section