Young Professionals Exemplary Service Award

Young Professionals Exemplary Service Award is given to members who have promoted growth, awareness, and expanded opportunities within the organization for young professionals. The award will help recognize the importance of AAPG volunteers dedicating themselves to helping inspire, retain and recruit future geoscientists within the Association as well as to the organization and profession in general.



Philip Ajaebili

Andrea Lopez Vega


Heba Askar

Hala Alwagdani

David Eastwell

Ricardo Vargas


Lizbeth Paola Calizaya Carlan

Anna Sheldon Phelps


Kristen Lee Wooden

Sean Kimiagar

Flover Gregorio Rodriguez Portillo


James Hunter Lockhart

Tunbosun Afolayan

Low Wan Ching


Ola M. Adly

Ola Adly Dawood

Dwandari Ralanarko


Nick Lagrilliere

Ryan Thomas Lemiski

Catherine Elizabeth Campbell

Aisha Abdullah Al-Bulushi

Presentation of Young Professionals Exemplary Service Award to Low Wan Ching at the Opening Session, Annual Convention & Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas on May 19, 2019.
Presentation of Young Professionals Exemplary Service Award to Dwandari Ralanarko at the Opening Session, Annual Convention & Exhibition in Salt Lake City, Utah on May 21, 2018.

The recipient(s) must be a Member or Associate of the Association under the age of 35 and must be in good standing. More than one Member may be considered in any one year for this award.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

The emphasis should be on meaningful service to the Association by a young professional. The recipient(s) should have demonstrated excellence, enthusiastic participation, organizational creativity, leadership and passion for the activities of the Association.

The individual(s) must have served in a volunteer position within the organization for a minimum of three years, either at the local or national level. He/she must have assisted the YP Committee with their mission to aid the Association in expanding young professionals’ outreach and opportunities within the organization and/or industry including, but not limited to: retention of students, collaboration with the local societies to establish greater continuity between Student and YP chapters and the local affiliated society, recruitment of new members, appointments to committees and encouragement/guidance into leadership positions within AAPG.

Procedure for Recommendation

Members of the governing body of the Young Professionals Special Interest Group, as well as Section and Region leadership, will submit a minimum of five candidate recommendations (names and supporting biographical data/detail of volunteer efforts/accomplishment) to the chairman of the Honors and Awards Committee at Association headquarters by January 31 of each year. Upon acceptance of the nominees, the H&A Committee will submit name(s) to the Advisory Council, which will in turn submit their endorsement to the Executive Committee for final approval.

Description of Award

Individual(s) chosen will receive an engraved crystal award, which will detail the name of the individual, name of award and the year presented. There shall be no cash distribution. The recipient(s) will also receive a framed certificate bearing the name of the recipient, title of the award and date presented. The award recipient will be invited to accept the crystal award in person at the Honors and Awards Ceremony held at the AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition. The certificate will be mailed after the convention. Each award recipient’s name and photograph will also appear in the Bulletin and annual convention program book.


This award was approved by Executive Committee action in 2015 and implemented in 2016.


Funding for the award is to be provided by the AAPG.

Association Awards

Nominated Awards

All Awards