Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator Award

The Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator Award is given in recognition of distinguished and outstanding contributions to geological education. Only one award is to be given per year unless funding is approved by the Executive Committee when the award slate is approved. Contributions leading to consideration for this award will most often involve the teaching and counseling of students at the university level, and contributions to the education of the public, and management of educational programs may also be recognized.



Virginia Sisson

Robert Craig Trentham


Marjorie A. Chan

Katherine Anne Giles


Brian P. J. Williams, PhD, DSc

Xavier Ravi Moonan


Abel Idowu Olayinka

William Paul Mann


Michael Grammer

Kathleen Marie Marsaglia, PhD


Philip S. Simony

Frank R. Ettensohn


Norman John Hyne, PhD

Cari Lynne Johnson


Xiaomin Zhu

Brenda L. Kirkland, PhD


Samuel Olusegun Akande, PhD

Donald Wilkin Boyd

James Owen Puckette

Victor Paul Wright, PhD


Joseph Albert Cartwright

Gregor Paul Eberli

Charles Kerans

Donald R. Lowe, PhD


Carlton E. Brett

John R. Underhill, PhD


Howard David Johnson, PhD

Andrew Hurst, PhD


Lawrence Daniel Meckel, PhD

Ronald J. Steel, PhD


Murray Gingras

Eric Allan Erslev, PhD

Wayne Merrill Ahr, PhD


Finn Surlyk

J. Frederick Read


S. George Pemberton

Robert Stephen Gray


Janok P. Bhattacharya

Stephan Alan Graham, PhD

A. Eugene Fritsche, PhD


G. Randy Keller

Brian Edward Lock

Roger M. Slatt, PhD

John Edward Warme, PhD


Fred Franke Meissner

Paul Weimer, PhD

Aureal T. Cross


William Edmond Galloway

Edward Carl Roy, Jr., PhD

Andrew D. Miall, PhD

Knut O. Bjorlykke


Frank Gulde Ethridge

Albert V. Carozzi


William R. Muehlberger, PhD

Zuhair Al-Shaieb

Paul Edwin Potter, PhD


John W. Harbaugh, PhD

Charles R. Stelk

Clyde Herbert Moore, Jr., PhD


Ernest A. Mancini

Robert Raymond Berg, PhD

John D. Haun, PhD


Roger Geoffrey Walker, PhD

Peter Robbins Vail, PhD


Stephen Gerrard Middleton

Lloyd Charles Pray, PhD


Harold Garnar Reading

Robert L. Folk

George B. Asquith


Gerald Manfred Friedman, PhD

L. L. Sloss

Robert J. Weimer, PhD


James Lee Wilson, PhD

Presentation of Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator Award to Michael Grammer and Kathleen Marsaglia at the Opening Session, Annual Convention & Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas on May 19, 2019.
Presentation of Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator Award to Frank R. Ettensohn at the Opening Session, Annual Convention & Exhibition in Salt Lake City, Utah on May 21, 2018.
Presentation of Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator Awards to Murray Gingras, Eric Erslev and Wayne Ahr at the Opening Session, Annual Convention & Exhibition in New Orleans, Louisiana on April 11, 2010.

The recipient need not be a Member of the Association, and consideration is to be made without regard for national origin. The recipient must be living at the time of selection and be willing to be present to receive the award at the time and place designated by the Executive Committee. If death of the recipient occurs after selection, the medal will be awarded posthumously. The award is made at such times as the Executive Committee may designate, at the recommendation of the Advisory Council, but not more than once in any calendar year unless funding is also approved by the Executive Committee when it approves the award slate.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

Consideration should emphasize contributions to the teaching of students, guidance of student research, research and scientific publications, university and community activities, and involvement in the activities of scientific/professional organizations.

Procedure for Recommendation

Nominations for this award should be submitted, along with documentation, to the Chairman of the Honors and Awards Committee at Association Headquarters. All nominations become part of a permanent file for future consideration and need not be resubmitted, but additional information may be submitted at any time. The Committee’s recommendations will be submitted to the Advisory Council, which in turn will submit its selection to the Executive Committee for final action.

Description of Award

This award consists of an oak double shadow box. The right panel displays a sterling silver medallion specifically designed for this award. The double-faced medallion is removable and bears the name of the recipient and date of the award. The left panel displays an AAPG medallion and a plate containing the citation.


This award was first proposed by Dr. Grover E. Murray in a letter to then President Harrison L. Townes, dated May 19, 1993. In the letter, Dr. and Mrs. Murray agreed to provide funding to support the award, if approved. Approval was given by the Executive Committee on June 30, 1993.


Funding for the award is provided through the AAPG Foundation Awards Fund through a generous contribution by Dr. and Mrs. Grover Murray.

Association Awards

Nominated Awards

All Awards