HomeAbout AAPG Overview Honors and Awards Association Student Awards Ozan Sungurlu Memorial Award

Ozan Sungurlu Memorial Award (Best International Student Poster)

The Ozan Sungurlu Memorial Award for Best International Student Poster is given each year in recognition of the best AAPG International Student Poster presented at the international conventions.



Ibraheem Ali


Mikhail Vadimovich Skaryatin


Anastasia Polymeni


Silvia Omodeo Sale


Casper Olsen


Roy Conan Davies


The recipient of the Ozan Sungurlu Memorial Award is not required to be an AAPG Member.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

Judging process is overseen by the AAPG Student Chapter Committee.


The Committee’s decision is announced by the Student Chapter Committee Chair.

Description of Award

The Ozan Sungurlu Memorial Award for the Best International Student Poster is $500 cash.


This award is named in honor of Ozan Sungurlu, who was Vice President of Exploration at Turkish Petroleum Corporation and was instrumental with the affiliation of the Turkish Association of Petroleum Geologists with AAPG. Ozan Sungurlu was a role model to many young geologists, creating opportunities for them to get the international education and modern geological thought overseas.

Sungurlu was born in Gumushane, Turkey, in 1939 and completed his education in Eskisehir and Istanbul. After graduating from the Istanbul University in 1964, he started his career as field geologist at the Mineral Research Institute (MTA) and joined Turkish Petroleum Corporation (TPAO) in 1969.

His interest in integrated geological processes started during his university education, where he became a researcher utilizing data and field relationships to question established dogmas for the geological problems in Turkey. His extraordinary interest in fundamentals of geological thought drove him to solve the complex regional geology of Turkey, especially the events from the Mesozoic to Present.

He continued to be technically active, publishing on the structural geology and petroleum systems of southeast Turkey and regional geology of the Turkish portion of the Tethyan region. He also contributed greatly to the geological studies at both TPAO and Turkish academe, initiating collaborative field studies with Istanbul Technical University where he personally proposed studies on critical problems.

Sungurlu was a great supporter of AAPG, encouraging TPAO participation at international meetings, utilizing the AAPG Distinguished Lecture Program and encouraging affiliation of Turkish Petroleum Geologists with AAPG.

This award was established in January 2001 by the Executive Committee of the Association.


Funding for the award is provided through the AAPG Foundation Awards Fund through generous contributions by the Sungurlu Family, A. M. Celal Sengor and Pinar O. Yilmaz, as a lasting memorial to Ozan Sungurlu.

Student Awards

Association Awards

All Awards

About Us