We’re a region of full of energy and diversity and home to a world-renown geoscience community. Twenty first century Latin America is an exciting time both for science and for industry.

Countries from the Rio Grande to Tierra del Fuego are producing oil and gas at record levels, and the region’s total production stands at around nine million barrels of oil per day. There is significant undiscovered potential in the region, both in conventional and unconventional resources. Pre-salt discoveries in Brazil and the heavy oil activities in Peru, Ecuador, Colombia and Venezuela exemplify the potential of conventional resources, while the Vaca Muerta formations in Argentina and La Luna formations in Colombia and Venezuela illustrate our unconventional potential.

This oil and gas boom is demanding more and better-educated engineers and geoscientists, and that’s where AAPG steps into the picture.

The AAPG Latin America Region has designed an ambitious set of plans to serve members in the Region and to advance the science of geology. Recent accomplishments include the highly successful International Conference and Exhibition (ICE) in Cartagena in September 2013, Geoscience Technology Workshops and Education Weeks held in five countries, the formation of new Student and Young Professionals chapters throughout the region, and the establishment of a regional office in Bogotá, Colombia.

Future goals include enhancing AAPG’s science and technology offerings, expanding the membership base and increasing engagement from diverse companies and individuals throughout the region.

The future looks bright for Latin America. We invite you to join us as we work to advance our science, build partnerships and promote the value of AAPG.

Victor H. Vega Victor H. Vega President (2015-2017) Shell Americas +1.281.544.2413
Victor O. Ramirez Victor O. Ramirez Past President (2015-2017) Ecopetrol +571.234.5151
Pedro A. Alarcon Medina Pedro A. Alarcon Medina President Elect (2015-2017) Consultant +51.999.729.291
Sylvia Anjos Sylvia Anjos Vice President (2015-2017) Petrobras 55 21 2144 1479
Xavier Ravi Moonan Xavier Ravi Moonan Treasurer (2015-2017) Centrica Energy 1868 498 7923
Miguel Ramirez Miguel Ramirez Advisory Counselor (2014-2017) Avanti Energy +571.322.1231

The House of Delegates of the AAPG is made up of delegates from affiliated societies and international regions throughout the world. They are selected by popular vote from within their respective areas and serve a three year term.

Who Is My Delegate?

Region Pages