Research Committee

 The function of the Committee on Research is to monitor activities in geological research relating to exploration and production of petroleum and other energy minerals; to promote the interchange of research ideas through conferences, and the distribution of research information through symposia; to assist other AAPG committees with matters pertaining to research activities; and to initiate, sponsor, and cooperate with other organizations in gathering data and preparing reports on subjects of interest to geoscientists. 

The committee consists of two subcommittees: 

  1. Reservoir Deformation Research Group and 
  2. Unconventional Gas Research Group.
Jean-Yves D. Chatellier Jean-Yves D. Chatellier Chair 2013-2016 Tecto Sedi Integrated Inc
John Robert Suter John Robert Suter Chair 2013-2016
Steven H. Brachman Steven H. Brachman Executive Committee Liaison 2014-2016 Wapiti Energy, LLC
Susan Smith Nash Susan Smith Nash Staff Liaison 2008-2016 AAPG
Ulysses S. Hargrove, III MEMBER 2010-2016 Newark E&P, LLC
John William Snedden MEMBER 2007-2016 Institute for Geophysics
Yitian Xiao MEMBER 2015-2018 ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company

Historical Information

Please check back for more information.