Research Committee

 The function of the Committee on Research is to monitor activities in geological research relating to exploration and production of petroleum and other energy minerals; to promote the interchange of research ideas through conferences, and the distribution of research information through symposia; to assist other AAPG committees with matters pertaining to research activities; and to initiate, sponsor, and cooperate with other organizations in gathering data and preparing reports on subjects of interest to geoscientists. 

The committee consists of two subcommittees: 

  1. Reservoir Deformation Research Group and 
  2. Unconventional Gas Research Group.
Daniel Evan Schwartz Daniel Evan Schwartz Executive Committee Liaison 2016-2018
Susan Smith Nash Susan Smith Nash Staff Liaison 2008-2099 AAPG
Yitian Xiao MEMBER 2015-2018 ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company

Historical Information