Hackbarth Assumes Presidency of AAPG

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

Claudia J. Hackbarth, a Houston-based geologist who has held a variety of management and leadership positions for the Royal Dutch Shell Group, assumed the presidency of AAPG on July 1.

She begins her one-year role as president after serving as president-elect on the AAPG Executive Committee.

An AAPG/DPA-Certified Petroleum Geologist, Hackbarth received her bachelor’s degrees in Environmental Sciences and Chemistry (double major) from the University of Virginia, and her master’s degree and doctorate in Geological Sciences from Harvard University.

She started her geoscience career as a project manager with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, then enjoyed a 35-year career with Royal Dutch Shell, based in Houston but involved in international projects. Since 2017 she has chaired the Texas Bureau of Economic Geology Advisory Council.

Joining her on the AAPG Executive Committee is Deborah Sacrey, owner of Auburn Energy in Weimar, Texas, who recently was voted president-elect and will serve as AAPG president in 2024-25.

Others recently elected to the AAPG Executive Committee and who began their two-year terms of office on July 1 are:

  • Vice President-Regions (2023-25) – Sa’id Al-Hajri, manager of geological operations for Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.
  • Secretary (2023-25) – Sarah Spencer Barnes, exploration geologist, Global Exploration New Ventures, Chevron, Houston.

Also new to the committee is Robert Archer, senior reservoir engineering advisor at Hess Corporation, Houston, who has assumed the chair of the AAPG House of Delegates.

Others on the 2023-24 committee who will be serving the final year of their two-year terms are vice president-Sections Rebecca Dodge, Emeritus and adjunct associate professor, Midwestern State University, Midland, Texas; and treasurer J. Alexandra “Ali” Sloan, senior development geologist, Core Geologic, Denver. Continuing in the second year of a three-year term is AAPG editor Matthew Pranter, the Victor E. Monnett Endowed Chair in Energy Resources and professor of geosciences, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Okla.

What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

See Also: ACE Program Paper

ACE Program Paper Exhibition Hall Eagle Ford Lateral Wellbore Analysis Using Drill Cuttings Eagle Ford Lateral Wellbore Analysis Using Drill Cuttings Desktop /Portals/0/images/ace/2015/luncheon heros/ace2015-tp1-unconventional.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 14941

See Also: ACE Student Activity

ACE Student Activity Student and Faculty Lounge Student and Faculty Lounge Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/ace-2020-student-activites-page-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 55821

See Also: Explorer Article

Explorer Article Announcing AAPG’s Honored Best for 2024 Announcing AAPG’s Honored Best for 2024 Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/11-b_Leckie-Dale-20240103.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 66839

See Also: Foundation Update

Foundation Update AAPG Foundation Newsletter - March 2024 AAPG Foundation Newsletter - March 2024 Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/blog-foundation-newsletter-march-2024-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 66897
Foundation Update May 19-22, 2024 2024 Trustee Associates Meeting 2024 Trustee Associates Meeting Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/blog-foundation-2024-TA-annual-meeting-hero3.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 66592