AAPG Election Results Announced

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

Deborah Sacrey, a longtime AAPG member who has held a variety of leadership positions over the past several decades, has been voted president-elect of AAPG for the 2023-24 term.

She is one of three new officers chosen in this year’s AAPG election, which closed on May 15.

Sacrey will serve on the new Executive Committee as president-elect for the coming term and will then serve as the Association’s president in 2024-25.

Also elected to the incoming Executive Committee were:

  • Vice President-Regions (2023-25) – Sa’id Al-Hajri, manager of geological operations for Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.
  • Secretary (2023-25) – Sarah Spencer Barnes, exploration geologist, Global Exploration New Ventures, Chevron, Houston.

All will begin their duties on July 1, on an Executive Committee headed by Claudia Hackbarth, who assumes the AAPG presidency on that date.

They will be joining continuing EC members Rebecca Dodge, who starts the second year of her two-year term as vice president-Sections; J. Alexandra Sloan, continuing her two-year term as treasurer; and Matthew Pranter, who will start the second year of his three-year term as editor.

Also joining the committee will be Robert Archer, as chair of the AAPG House of Delegates.

Current AAPG President Steven Goolsby offered special thanks to candidates Maria Angela Capello, Steven Veal, Dwandari Ralanarko, Lizbeth Calizaya Carlan and John Casiano for their dedication and commitment to AAPG and their willingness to serve in leadership roles. “The Association and its members owe each of them a debt of gratitude,” Goolsby said.

Voting results show that just over 20 percent of AAPG’s 10,021 eligible voters cast ballots in this year’s election.

What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

See Also: ACE-Activity

ACE Activity George R. Brown Convention Center, Level 3 outside of Room 360 Pioneering Women in Petroleum Geology: 100 Years - Celebration Wall Pioneering Women in Petroleum Geology: 100 Years - Celebration Wall Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/ace17-PROWESS-activity-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 36629

See Also: ICE Networking Event

ICE Networking Event Exhibition Halls N21-N23 Exhibitor-Sponsored Luncheon Exhibitor-Sponsored Luncheon Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/ice-2017-networking-activity-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 40581

See Also: Explorer Article

Explorer Article AAPG Election Results Announced AAPG Election Results Announced Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/aapg-election-results-announced-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 65417
Explorer Article SPE/AAPG/SEG Energy in Transition Symposium in Washington, D.C. Dialogue on the Future of Energy Dialogue on the Future of Energy Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/dialogue-future-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 65323