25 November, 2020 Muscat Oman

3rd Edition AAPG/EAGE Hydrocarbon Seals of the Middle East

23-25 November 2020
Muscat, Oman

This three-day workshop has the primary goal to share knowledge, case studies, techniques and workflows pertaining to the understanding and prediction of hydrocarbon seals for exploration and production in the Middle East.

Seals are a fundamental element of any hydrocarbon accumulation, and can control trap integrity, migration and charge volumes; the lateral and vertical distribution of hydrocarbons in a trap; percent fill (or spill) of a reservoir; and the flow of hydrocarbons from the trap during production. As such, the long-term economic success or failure of an exploration to development project is very dependent on seal risking. Thus, consideration of subsurface hydrocarbon seals should have a high priority early on in any subsurface evaluation programme.

In many areas, despite the clear importance of seals, they often remain the least studied and integrated element of the petroleum system and are subject to lasting dogmas (e.g. the thicker the seal the greater its capacity to seal). Elements that contribute to making seals effective, such as lithology, their brittle-ductile nature, the hydrocarbon column length, the pressure regime and trap type will be reviewed.

Both vertical and lateral seals must be identified when exploring for subtle and stratigraphic traps. Seals created by faults and other types of seals will be reviewed. Quantification of effective seals and an ability to predict seal capacity before drilling is key to safe and successful exploring. In terms of seal assessment, understanding and predicting hydrocarbon seals is typically a multidisciplinary task requiring geosciences and engineering to collaborate on both dynamic and static data. In many areas of the Middle East our approach to understanding seals varies and it is now time to come together, share what we think and we know through the exchange of workflow, technique, and case study examples. The outcome of this workshop will enhance our collective understanding of hydrocarbon seals and our ability to develop new exploration concepts and make hydrocarbon discoveries.

Workshop Objectives

The workshop has a rich program of oral presentations and posters covering a variety of seal aspects. It will present integration cases of seismic, special core analysis, petrophysical, geochemical, pressure, and production data. Participants are expected to leave with knowledge and exposure to the following:

  • Regional and intraformational seals with field analogues
  • Sequence stratigraphic framework, facies and relationships to seal occurrences
  • Hydrocarbon seal architecture and capacity in carbonate, evaporite and clastic sequences
  • Static (capillary) and dynamic sealing capacity and hydrocarbon retention.
  • Integration of petrophysical, rock mechanics, seismic and engineering data for hydrocarbon seal assessment
  • The impact of structural geology & geomechanics on hydrocarbon seals
  • Sealing capacity of faults and implications for fluid flow modeling

Benefits of Attending

The workshop is an opportunity for attendees to receive up-to-date knowledge about hydrocarbon seals in exploration and production, exposure to regional case studies and to be introduced to workflows and techniques utilized for seal detection and capacity assessment. It is an opportunity to network and share experiences.


3rd Edition AAPG/EAGE Hydrocarbon Seals of the Middle East - Call for Posters Ends on 22 October, 2020

3rd Edition AAPG/EAGE Hydrocarbon Seals of the Middle East – Call for Posters Ends on 22 October, 2020 You are invited to prepare a poster display for presentation. If you are interested in participating, please send a short abstract to by 22 October 2020. All posters will be produced as pull-up banners and delivered by AAPG. There will not be any other format available for poster display.

Poster Abstract Template

Program Sessions
  • Session 1: Regional, Sub-Regional and Localized Intraformational Seals with Field Analogues
  • Session 2: Sequence Stratigraphic Framework, Facies and Relationships to Seal Occurrences
  • Session 3: Hydrocarbon Seal Architecture and Capacity in Carbonate, Evaporite and Clastic Sequences
  • Session 4: Static (Capillary) and Dynamic Sealing Capacity and Hydrocarbon Retention
  • Session 5: Integration of Petrophysical, Rock Mechanics, Seismic and Engineering Data for Hydrocarbon Seal Assessment
  • Session 6: The Impact of Structural Geology & Geomechanics on Hydro­carbon Seals


More details to follow shortly

Muscat, Oman
Muscat, Oman Muscat, Oman 55539

Expires on
25 November, 2020
Join and Save
Expires on
25 November, 2020
Non-Member Fee
Expires on
25 November, 2020
Member/Speaker Fee
Expires on
25 November, 2020
Young Professional Fee
Expires on
25 November, 2020
Academia Fee
Expires on
25 November, 2020
Student Fee

By registering with the ‘Join and Save’ rate, part of your registration fee will cover the cost of your AAPG membership application

To register with member/speaker fees, you must be an active member of AAPG or a speaker at the workshop

To register as a young professional, you must be under the age of 35 with less than 10 years’ work experience

Hamad Al Shuaili Chair PDO
Suleiman Shukairi Committee Member Daleel Petroleum
Andrew Sutherland Committee Member HCF
Talib Al Ajmi Committee Member PetroTel Oman
Aita Bijaripour Committee Member Schlumberger
Redha Al Lawatia Committee Member Schlumberger
Khalil Al Hooti Committee Member Sultan Qaboos University
Aleksandar Ilic Committee Member Tethys Oil

What Can I Do?

Register Online
Poster Template
Sponsorship Form
Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

AAPG Non-endorsement Policy

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) does not endorse or recommend any products and services that may be cited, used or discussed in AAPG publications or in presentations at events associated with AAPG.