HomeGlobal Europe Europe Events ER Virtual Event Detail Page

Evaporite Processes and Systems: Integrating Perspectives

Occurred Monday, 18 October Wednesday, 20 October 2021, 10:30 a.m.–6:00 p.m.  |  Virtual Workshop via Zoom (Salzburg, Austria time)

short course image

Join us virtually in this event that was due to be hosted in Salzburg, the “castle of salt” and cradle of Mozart and Doppler. We aim to host an interactive meeting aimed at bringing together different perspectives in the science of evaporite basins: from their formation to their deformation, from description and characterization to modelling. Exploratory success in evaporite-rich basins worldwide has depended on the role of evaporites as a deformable substrate, as a seal, or even as a good thermal conductor. The aim of this workshop is to improve our understanding and predictive ability by addressing evaporite systems in an integrated manner, all the way from precipitation to structuration, and exploring the multiple properties of evaporite sequences. This will be done via technical sessions, keynote speaker presentations, panel sessions and more!



Oscar Fernandez Oscar Fernandez Chair Univiersity of Vienna, Austria
Christoph Leitner Christoph Leitner Chair iC consulenten & University of Salzburg, Austria
Giovanni Aloisi Giovanni Aloisi Committee Member University of Paris, France
Kathleen Counter Benison Kathleen Benison Committee Member West Virginia University, USA
Adam Bere Adam Bere Committee Member Rockfield Ltd., UK
Claudia Bertoni Claudia Bertoni Committee Member University of Oxford, England (U.K.)
Angelo Camerlenghi Angelo Camerlenghi Committee Member National Institute of Oceanography and Applied Geophysics - OGS Trieste, Italy
Joan Francesc Flinch PhD Joan Flinch PhD Committee Member Repsol, Spain
Virginie Gaullier, PhD Virginie Gaullier Committee Member Professeur des Universités, University of Lille, France
Hans-Jürgen Gawlick Hans-Jürgen Gawlick Committee Member University of Leoben, Austria
Pablo Granado Pablo Granado Committee Member Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
Soraya Heuss-Aßbichler Soraya Heuss-Aßbichler Committee Member University of Munich , Germany
Michael R. Hudec Michael Hudec Committee Member University of Texas at Austin, USA
Hans-Gert Linzer, PhD Hans-Gert Linzer Committee Member Geology Expert, RAG Exploration & Production GmbH, Austria
Johanna Lofi Johanna Lofi Committee Member University of Montpellier, France
Berta Lopez-Mir Berta Lopez-Mir Committee Member Research Geologist, Instituto Geológico y Minero de España, Spain
Tim Lowenstein Tim Lowenstein Committee Member Binghamton University, USA
Adriana Mantilla Pimiento Adriana Mantilla Pimiento Committee Member Geothermal Exploration Projects Lead, REBI S.L, Spain
Terence McGenity Terence McGenity Committee Member University of Essex, UK
Franz Neubauer, PhD Franz Neubauer Committee Member University of Salzburg, Austria
Tadeusz Marek Peryt Tadeusz Peryt Committee Member Prof. dr hab., Panstwowy Inst Geologiczny - Panstwowy Instytut Badawczy, Poland
Brian Pratt Brian Pratt Committee Member Professor, Dept. of Geological Sciences; University of Saskatchewan, Canada
Jean-Claude  Ringenbach Jean-Claude Ringenbach Committee Member Senior Advisor in Structural Geology, Total s.a., France
Clara Rodriguez Clara Rodriguez Committee Member Petronas, UK
Karyna Rodriguez Karyna Rodriguez Committee Member VP Global New Ventures, Searcher Seismic, UK
Martin Schöpfer Martin Schöpfer Committee Member University of Wien , Austria
Juan I. Soto Juan Soto Committee Member Bureau of Economic Geology (University of Texas at Austin), USA
Michael Strugale, P.G. Michael Strugale Committee Member Reservoir Geologist, University of Oxford & Petrobras, UK
Gabor Tari Gabor Tari Committee Member Group Chief Geologist, OMV Upstream, Austria
Janos Urai Janos Urai Committee Member RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Heijnderik W. van Gent Heijnderik van Gent Committee Member Netherlands (Holland)
Stefaan Van Simaeys Stefaan Van Simaeys Committee Member Exxon (London), UK
Martin Wittke Martin Wittke Committee Member WBI (Wittke Beratende Ingenieure), Germany
Walter Wittke Walter Wittke Committee Member WBI (Wittke Beratende Ingenieure) , Germany
Bettina Wittke Bettina Wittke Committee Member WBI (Wittke Beratende Ingenieure), Germany
Prokop Zavada Prokop Zavada Committee Member Institute of Geophysics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic
Marcello Natalicchio Marcello Natalicchio Committee Member Professor, University of Torino, Italy, Italy
Francesco Dela Pierre Francesco Dela Pierre Committee Member Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Torino (Italy), Italy
Maria J. Herrero-Fernandez Maria Herrero-Fernandez Committee Member Universidad Complutnse, Spain
Marta Diaz Events Manager
Virtual Delegate Bag
Click on the logos to reveal items

Comments (1)

Dear Org.Committe :-) Shall I resend the previously submitted Abstract? Regards zoltan unger
1/6/2021 7:23:51 AM

What Can I Do?

AAPG Non-endorsement Policy

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) does not endorse or recommend any products and services that may be cited, used or discussed in AAPG publications or in presentations at events associated with AAPG.