Lee Suttner

438 Desktop

Lee Suttner holds a B.S. degree in Geology from the University of Notre Dame ('61), and M.S. ('63) and PhD ('66) degrees from the University of Wisconsin. He joined the faculty at Indiana University in 1966 and in 2001, was named the Distinguished Robert Shrock Professor of Sedimentary Geology, and currently is the Shrock Emeritus Professor and Director of Development. From 1968-1981 he was Associate Director and from 1981-1995 Director of the Indiana University Geologic Field Station in southwest Montana. He was Chair of the Department of Geological Sciences from 1990-1994 and 1996-1998. In between his two terms as Chair he served as the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies in the I.U. College of Arts and Sciences. He has served as President of NAGT, Midwest Section of SEPM, and the GSA Foundation. Lee is recipient of the National Association of Geoscience Teachers' "Neil Minor Award" for outstanding teaching, largely in recognition of his teaching and leadership at the Indiana University Geologic Field Station. Foremost among specific areas of his research, are his studies of sediment provenance, interpretation of paleoclimate from mineral suites, fluvial depositional systems, and the affects of intrabasinal tectonics on basin fill architecture. He has published over 100 articles, a number of guidebooks, and a major co-authored monograph entitled "Alluvial Fans and Fan Deltas". He has received best paper awards from the Journal of Sedimentary Petrology (1986) and two from the Mountain Geologist (1992 and 2006).

Training Offered