History of Petroleum Geology Committee

The purpose of the Committee is to preserve and promote the history and heritage of the evolution of geological concepts and technology used in the search for oil and gas worldwide, and the men and women who are responsible for this evolution.

The committee endeavors to do this by:

  • Facilitating presentations and posters at AAPG conferences.
  • Soliciting and editing papers for publication in the AAPG Explorer and other publications.
  • Facilitating the knowledge of and access to existing key publications.
  • Building and fostering relationships with other key organizations, such as museums and societies, with a common vision.
  • Posting information on our AAPG webpage to facilitate a greater knowledge and appreciation of our history and heritage.
  • Coordinating and participating in the construction of special exhibits.
  • Honoring mem and women who have made pioneering contributions to the concepts and technology of our profession.

The goals of the committee are:

  • For AAPG membership to gain a better appreciation of our personal, technical, and institutional heritage in order to have higher collective pride and self-esteem.
  • For AAPG Members to better find petroleum in the future by having a better appreciation of how it has been found in the past.
  • To strengthen the AAPG by attracting students and retaining young professionals by instilling in them a better appreciation of our history and heritage.
  • To give other sectors of our industry and society in general a better understanding of the realities and challenges of exploring for petroleum.
Matthew R. Silverman Matthew R. Silverman Chair 2017-2020 Robert L. Bayless, Producer
Janet Marie Combes Committee Member 2009-2018
Robbie Rice Gries Committee Member 2015-2018 Priority Oil & Gas LLC
Amanda G. Haddad Committee Member 2015-2018 BHP Billiton
Robert D. Hatcher, Jr. Committee Member 2015-2018 Univ. of Tennessee
Peter Robert Rose Committee Member 2012-2018 Telegraph Exploration, Inc.
Raymond Paul Sorenson Committee Member 2003-2018
Clinton Raymond Tippett Committee Member 2006-2018 Retired, Shell Canada
Laura Ann Mauro Johnson Executive Committee Liaison 2017-2019 Anschutz Exploration Corporation
Vernon L. Stefanic Staff Liaison 2017-2099 Amer Assoc Petr Geologists
Steven Loring Veal Committee Manager 2017-2018