

Proposed 16 Member Board of Directors (14 Voting)





How Is the Board of Directors Elected?

The Board of Directors will have 14 voting members and 2 non-voting members who are elected or selected as follows:

Position	Election/Selection Process
Immediate Past President	Automatically succeeds to position after President term
President	Automatically succeeds to position after President-Elect term
President-Elect	Elected by the voting members
Secretary/CEO (Non-Voting, Ex-Officio)	AAPG employee serving at the pleasure of the Board of Directors
Treasurer/CFO (Non-Voting, Ex-Officio)	AAPG employee serving at the pleasure of the Board of Directors
Oil & Gas Director 1	Elected by the voting members in the Oil & Gas Technical Directorate
Oil & Gas Director 2*	Elected by the voting members in the Oil & Gas Technical Directorate
Alternative & Future Energy Director	Elected by the voting members in the Alternative & Future Energy Technical Directorate
Environmental Geosciences Director	Elected by the voting members in the Environmental Geosciences Technical Directorate
Business & Certification Director	Elected by the voting members in the Business & Certification Technical Directorate
Publications & Events Director	Elected by the voting members in the Publications & Events Technical Directorate
Sections Director	Elected by the 6 Section Presidents
Regions Director	Elected by the 6 Region Chairs
Member Services Director	Elected by the voting members
Academic Relations Director	Elected by the voting members
Stakeholder Relations Director	Elected by the voting members

^{*}The Oil & Gas Directorate will decide how its two directors will be selected. No requirement exists under the proposed Bylaws that the directors represent specific constituencies in the directorate or that they be selected in a certain manner.

A Nominating Committee with representation from each Technical Directorate and with proportional representation from each Section and Region will present to the Board of Directors at least two candidates for each position to be elected by the voting members as noted above. Additional nominations for these positions may be made by a petition signed by no fewer than a total of 50 voting members from at least four different Sections and Regions.

The Technical and Membership Directors will serve staggered three-year terms. The Sections and Regions Directors will serve one-year terms.