Cape Town Awardees

Winners have been announced for oral and poster technical presentations made at the AAPG International Conference and Exhibition in Cape Town, South Africa.

The winners will receive their awards June 7 in Denver during the opening session at this year’s AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition.

The award winners are:

Gabriel Dengo Memorial Award

(Best international paper)

  • Charlie Kerans, Department of Geosciences, University of Texas at Austin, for the paper “Carbonate Grainstone Geobody Occurrence and Organizations.”
Ziad Beydoun Award

(Best international poster)

  • George Pemberton, Murray Gingras and James MacEachern, for the poster “The Role of Bioturbation in Low Permeability Gas-Charged Reservoirs.”

Pemberton and Gingras are with the University of Alberta’s department of earth and atmospheric sciences, Edmonton, Canada, and MacEachern is with the earth sciences department at Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, Canada.

Pemberton was a 2008 AAPG Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator award winner.

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

See Also: Explorer Article

Recollection of an Adventure on Portage Lake
The Great Alaskan Earthquake of 1964 Recollection of an Adventure on Portage Lake

See Also: Explorer Division Column EMD

It’s the Environment, Stupid
Change – or more of the same? It’s the Environment, Stupid

See Also: Explorer Emphasis

Brazil Dancing the ‘Pre-Salt Salsa’
Discoveries of ‘Olympian’ size Brazil Dancing the ‘Pre-Salt Salsa’
Potential, Successes Top Regional Challenges
‘Promising future’ for unconventional plays Potential, Successes Top Regional Challenges
Study Data Provide New Shale Perspective
North America vs. European shales Study Data Provide New Shale Perspective