Members urged to vote online

AAPG Balloting to Open March 4

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

Balloting for AAPG officers will open March 4.

This year members will be choosing a president-elect from three candidates (you will be asked to vote in order of your preference); a vice president-Sections from two candidates; and a treasurer from two candidates.

The election once again will be conducted with the assistance of Survey and Ballot Systems, which has provided AAPG with electronic voting capability for the past five years. Their service during this time has helped improve the voting experience as reflected in positive member feedback. 

One of the goals in switching to the electronic voting method was to reduce election costs – specifically in printing and postage. This year AAPG will implement that step by mailing a paper ballot only to those members who do NOT have a valid e-mail address, or to those whose e-mail addresses are bounced back as non-deliverable.

Therefore, please be certain that your e-mail address is up-to-date in your AAPG member record.

If you don’t have e-mail, please be certain your member record has your correct mailing address. 

You can check your member information by logging in to the Members Only section of the AAPG Web site.

To cast your vote you will need both your AAPG member number and an assigned code, referred to as an “E-Signature.” Both these numbers will be provided to you either in your e-mail notification or on the paper ballot, and can be used only one time.

Members will be able to access the e-ballot by clicking on the AAPG Officer Election icon at from March 4 noon CST to May 15 noon CDT.

Biographical information on the candidates can be viewed from the ballot site and User Support will be available to you if needed. 

Those who receive a paper ballot can instead choose to vote online; however, do not also return the paper ballot.

Your vote is important so please research the candidates’ qualifications and cast your vote before noon CDT May 15.

To avoid a reminder e-mail or postcard, vote before April 1.

The candidate slate is:

  • John C. Lorenz, Geoflight LLC, Edgewood, N.M.
  • Dwight M. “Clint” Moore, DiamondStar Exploration & Production, Houston (petition candidate).
  • Ronald A. Nelson, Broken N Consulting, Cat Spring, Texas.
Vice President-Sections
  • David H. Hawk, Energy Analysis and Answers/Consultant, Boise, Idaho
  • W.C. “Rusty” Riese, BP Americas, Katy, Texas.
  • Edith C. Allison, U.S. Department of Energy, Washington, D.C.
  • Kay L. Pitts, Aera Energy LLC, Bakersfield, Calif.

Biographies for the 2008-09 slate of AAPG officer candidates are available online.

Included are the responses from each candidate as to why they chose to stand for AAPG office – or, in the case of the petition candidate, why he chose to petition to seek office.

The president-elect winner will serve as AAPG president in 2009-10. The terms for both vice president-Sections and treasurer are two years. 

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

See Also: ACE-Activity

ACE Activity George R. Brown Convention Center 100th Anniversary Gala Dinner 100th Anniversary Gala Dinner Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/ace17-special-event-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 35058

See Also: ACE Networking Event

ACE Networking Event Hilton Americas-Houston Hotel All-Alumni Reception All-Alumni Reception Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/ace17-all-alumni-reception-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 34749

See Also: Africa Blog

Africa Blog NAPE holds 32nd Annual International Conference in Lagos NAPE holds 32nd Annual International Conference in Lagos Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/NAPE-32nd-Annual-Conference-Lagos-2014-hero.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 13583

See Also: Delegates Voice Committee Article

Delegates Voice Committee Article Committee Chairs Constitution and Bylaws Committee Constitution and Bylaws Committee Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/lloyd-peter-q3-dv-2011.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 8732

See Also: Explorer Article

Explorer Article Candidates Announced for 2015-16 Candidates Announced for 2015-16 Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/explorer-cover-2014-12dec.jpg?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 13653