Geophysical Corner

Geophysical Corner - Ayrat Sirazhiev

Foundation members and friends had a plethora of ways to mingle and reconnect with friends at the 2015 Annual Convention and Exhibition in Denver, at business meetings, receptions and in its own lounge area in the AAPG Center.

Attendees were energized by AAPG President Randi Martinsen's enthusiastic speech at the opening ceremony, and by the impressive animations of Colorado's geologic history, presented by past AAPG president Paul Weimer.

Awards were given to several Foundation members for their outstanding service, chief among them being the L. Austin Weeks Memorial Medal, which this year was presented to AAPG Foundation trustee David Worthington. The L. Austin Weeks Memorial Medal is the Foundation's highest award, given annually in recognition of extraordinary philanthropy and service in advancing the mission of the AAPG Foundation.

The AAPG All-Convention Luncheon continued the fun, when the Foundation's spotlight was turned on special guest Jacqueline Bath, who received a standing ovation when she was presented the 2015 Teacher of the Year Award by Foundation Board of Trustees Chairman, Jim Gibbs.

Foundation Business

Foundation business over the week of ACE included meetings of Members of the Corporation, the Fundraising Advisory Committee, the Grants-in-Aid Committee and the Board of Trustees.

The Foundation leadership welcomed aboard a new trustee, David Worthington, and elected trustee Lee Backsen to fill the vacated treasurer position.

Chairman's Reception

Supporters of Foundation gathered the last night of ACE to celebrate yet another successful year for the organization at the annual Chairman's Reception.

Among the evening's guests were student award recipients of both the Grants-in-Aid program and the Imperial Barrel Award program. A few of the students who received awards this year had the good fortune of meeting their named grant donors who so generously endowed the Grants-in-Aid awards they received in 2015.

In his address at the reception, Gibbs recognized this year's Trustee Associates Service Award Recipient, Paul Strunk, sharing that "Paul has been exemplary in his service to the Foundation, and his passion for promoting the geosciences has led to the implementation of one of (the Foundation's) newest programs, the Military Veterans Scholarship Program."

Gibbs shared his excitement about the U.S. Military Veterans Scholarship Program and encouraged supporters to continue to bolster this new fund to award additional undergraduate veterans who are studying geoscience and are in need.

Thanks in large part to Strunk's support, the Foundation will award scholarships to up to 10 veterans who are studying undergraduate geosciences in July 2015.

"Paul's generosity helped to make this valuable program a reality," Gibbs said, "and it is sincerely appreciated."

Strunk will formally receive his award at the Trustee Associates annual meeting this September at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.

Gibbs then presented William "Bill" Fisher with the Foundation's Chairman's Award, presented to recognize those who have made extraordinary contributions to the AAPG Foundation. Fisher was selected "due to his many years of exemplary service as a past chairman of the AAPG Foundation's Board of Trustees as well as past AAPG president and an award-winning leader of both entities for nearly 40 years," Gibbs said.

Gibbs also presented the 2015 Professorial Award to Joseph Satterfield of Angelo State University, an award presented annually to a professor for "Excellence in the Teaching of Natural Resources in the Earth Sciences."

Gibbs described Satterfield as "a remarkable gentleman who is inspiring the next generation of geoscientists."

"Students and colleagues alike have praised him for his enthusiasm and passion - both for teaching, and for geology - making him a perfect choice for this honor," Gibbs said.

Finally, Gibbs extended a special message to the Trustee Associates in the room: "I would love to see each and every one of you at our next annual Trustee Associates meeting at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado, Sept. 9-12, 2015. Registration will open in the next few weeks ... it's always a great time and a great way to meet and enjoy the special camaraderie among your fellow Associates."

Registration for the 2015 Trustee Associates meeting at the Broadmoor
is now open. Trustee Associates and
their guests may visit the Foundation website to book reservations:

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend