Foundation Names Trustees

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

Two longtime AAPG supporters have been added to the AAPG Foundation Board of Trustees, the group responsible for oversight of Foundation activities.

Joining the board are:

  • Paul Strunk, from Corpus Christi and past AAPG treasurer, Texas, who joins the board for a two-year term. He has been a Foundation Trustee Associate since 1994.
  • Ray Thomasson, from Denver and past AAPG president, who joins the board for a three-year term. He has been a Trustee Associate since 1995.

They are replacing William Barrett and Marlan Downey, respectively, as board members.

Also announced, John J. Amoruso was re-elected to the board for another three-year term, and two Trustee Associates were added to the Members of the Corporation, both for four-year terms. They are:

  • Ed Heath, from Durango, Colo., who has been a Trustee Associate since 1995.
  • Don Lewis, from Lafayette, Calif., who has been a Trustee Associate since 1997.

They replace Marta Weeks-Wulf and Lou Bortz.

Re-elected to the Members of the Corporation were Scotty Holland, of Houston, and Robert Gunn, of Wichita Falls, Texas.

The Foundation gratefully acknowledges those who have served and continue to serve on these boards.

For information on joining the Trustee Associates, visit the Foundation website

In other action taken by the Foundation Board of Trustees during its recent meeting in Houston:

♦They approved the Newly Released Publications Program.

Donors now can make a contribution into an endowment fund that will enable one or more universities of the donor’s choosing to annually receive a set of publications as determined by the Foundation and the Publications department.

This “set” will have an approximate value of $530. A contribution of $13,250 is required to establish the subscription.

This concept was introduced by Larry Funkhouser, who also provided funds for the first three universities to benefit from the program – Oberlin, Stanford and Worcester (Massachusetts).

Contact the Foundation to sponsor the university of your choosing.

♦They approved $32,500 for the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History for the digitization of maps in the Dibblee collection.

These geological maps are of central and southern California as researched by Thomas W. Dibblee Jr. during his lifetime of fieldwork.

A remaining $32,500 is required to complete the project (which totaled 200 maps). Your contributions to the AAPG Foundation designated to this project can help the museum achieve this goal.

♦They approved $35,000 to fund AGI’s Earth Science Week 2011.

The Foundation has been a proud supporter of this endeavor since its inception in 1998.

A new member also has been added to the Foundation Trustee Associates. He is John Dolson, of Coconut Grove, Fla.

A check of our records showed that 39 individuals and companies have donated boxes of journals, periodicals and other publications to the Foundation for the Publications Pipeline program.

These materials are packaged and shipped to universities in many countries abroad at no cost to the libraries that request them.

Contact the Foundation if you have materials to donate.

Our “Meeting Challenges … Assuring Success” campaign has raised $33,928,895 and will continue through 2011 with a goal of raising $35 million.

Please make a contribution to help the AAPG Foundation reach the goal.

Give online through our secure website or mail to AAPG Foundation, P.O. Box 979, Tulsa, Okla. 74101.

Credit card donations may be made by calling 1-800-397-4141, ext. 2644.

Finally, the AAPG Foundation annual report is available for download at the Foundation website.

If you are committed to supporting the Foundation’s mission through a bequest or other planned gift, please contact our office, or call 1-800-397-4141, ext. 2644.

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

AAPG Foundation’s Publication Pipeline Donors

The following have donated books to the AAPG Foundation’s Publication Pipeline project.
  • Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN)
  • Bernie Baldwin
  • John Berry
  • Norman Biles
  • Teresa Suter Bowers
  • Mechell Brown
  • Dan Burnham
  • Chuck Caughey
  • Soman Chacko
  • Rick Cherrington
  • M. Dai
  • Robbie De Vries
  • Craig Dingler
  • Louise Durham
  • Gretchen Gillis
  • Bob Goldstein
  • Aida Green
  • Robert G. Hickman
  • Dana Hutchison
  • Gary Huxford
  • Amber Irish
  • Mike Jones
  • Louise H. Kellogg
  • E. Shelby King
  • George Klein
  • John Linehan
  • Bill McBee (Estate)
  • J.B. “Jim” McCain
  • Howard "Pat" Patton
  • Erik Pickles
  • Robert Remy
  • Allan Scardina
  • Sharon Simkin
  • Smithsonian Institute
  • Dustin Sweet
  • William A. Thomas
  • Owen White
  • Pinar Yilmaz
  • Robert Zierenberg