Honors and Awards Committee

The HoD Honors and Awards Committee consists of 10 members, which encompass the many Regions and Sections of AAPG from all over the globe. These members have served in several different leadership positions within AAPG and their local societies. Their commitment to bring forth the highest honors to those who have paved the way for our great organization has been exceptional. Without this committee, appointed by Larry Wickstrom and supported by AAPG’s Regina Gill and Jenifer Gilbert, the role of chair would have been unsuccessful. (See committee list, below).

Kristie Luchtel-Ferguson, 2013-14 HoD Honors and Awards Committee Chair
Kristie Luchtel-Ferguson, 2013-14 HoD Honors and Awards Committee Chair

The following HoD awards were celebrated at the AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition, April 6, 2014, in Houston:

Honorary Member of the House Award

Presented “in recognition of a record of consistent, dedicated, and exemplary service to the HoD through committee work and officer service.”

  • Edward Wyman Heath, Rocky Mountain Section, Durango, Colo.
Distinguished Member of the House Award

Presented “in recognition of the unique or exemplary service to the House through committee work.”

  • Margaret Anne Rogers, Rocky Mountain Section, Los Alamos, N.M.
  • Paul William Britt, Gulf Coast Section, Houston
House Long Service Award

Presented “in recognition of persons who have served as delegates for a minimum of four terms and have, in addition, taken an active role in the affairs of the House.”

  • Terry L. Hollrah, Mid-Continent Section, Oklahoma City
  • Royce P. Carr, Gulf Coast Section, Mount Pleasant, Texas
Recognition of Service Award
  • Larry H. Wickstrom, HoD Chair
  • Dan A. Billman, HoD Secretary
15-year Certificate of Service HoD
  • Steven H. Brachman, Houston Geological Society
  • John G. Kaldi, Asia-Pacific Region
Nine-year Certificate of Service HoD
  • Peter W. Baillie, Asia-Pacific Region
  • Kathleen C. “Kara” Bennett, Houston Geological
  • John R.V. Brooks, European Region
  • Mary E. Dowse, New Mexico Geological Society
  • L.G. Joe Eubanks, Houston Geological Society
  • Steven M. Goolsby, Rocky Mountain Association of
  • Michael B. Hauck, European Region
  • Chengzao Jia, Asia-Pacific Region
  • Gopal Lahiri, Asia-Pacific Region
  • Michael McWalter, Asia-Pacific Region
  • Scott W. Tinker, Austin Geological Society
  • John T. Williams, Coast Geological Society

The committee will begin to prepare nominations to present to the HoD chair by Oct. 31, 2014. Please send nominations for the Honorary and Distinguished Member Award, including a one-page nomination summary, by “snail” mail or email. Also, please feel free to contact me via phone or email if you have any questions about the individual awards.

Thank you for allowing me to serve you.

Honors and Awards Committee members: Kristie Luchtel-Ferguson, chair; Mark A Rainer, vice-chair; David E. Brown, Patrick J. Gooding, Tom C. Anderson, Stefano Mazzoni, Isabelle Le Nir, Michael McWalter, Maurice Birdwell and Rusty Riese.

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend