The Best Student Oral Presentation Award is given each year at the Annual Convention of the Association in recognition of the best student paper presented at the previous years’ annual convention.


Error compiling Razor Template: Error compiling Razor template: (204, 50) The name 'Tknparams' does not exist in the current context (check logs for more details)


The recipient of the Award is not required to be an AAPG Member, or a member of a Student Chapter. However, the work presented must have been done while the presenter was/is a student.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

The best student oral presentation falls under the responsibility of the Matson Award Committee Chairman, who is appointed by the Convention General Chairman. The Matson Award Committee Chairman chooses a group of judges who select the winning student oral paper according to the quality of scientific content and excellence of presentation. These results are compiled by the Student Chapter Committee, and the award is presented by the Committee to the Student recipient.


The Committee’s decision is conveyed to the Student Chapter Committee following the AAPG annual convention.

Description of Award

The Best Student Paper Award is strictly a cash award, with 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners receiving $1,500, $1000, and $500 respectively, and their universities receiving a matching award. No plaques or certificates are awarded. Ten of the accepted presenters are selected to also receive $250 travel stipends. All student presenters receive a $25 Store Gift Certificate.


These awards are funded each year through an annual contribution from Shell to the AAPG Foundation. In 2006 Shell increased the total amount of award funds, which now allows for ten $250 travel stipends to be awarded in addition to the prize monies.