The Geosciences in the Media Award is given to a person in recognition of notable journalistic achievement in any medium which contributes to public understanding of geology, energy resources, or the technology of oil and gas exploration. Granting of this award in any year is discretionary.


Error compiling Razor Template: Error compiling Razor template: (204, 50) The name 'Tknparams' does not exist in the current context (check logs for more details)

Whereas Members of the Association are not excluded, as a general rule it is expected that candidates would be professional journalists, writers, commentators, etc. It is also expected that writers for petroleum industry publications whose job it is to “contribute to the public understanding of geology, energy resources, or the technology of oil and gas exploration” would be excluded, unless there has been an extra effort that has been clearly beneficial by informing the general public.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

Because this field presents an extremely wide range both as to subject matter and as to possible geographic influence, it is difficult for a central committee to make clear and equitable judgments. Therefore, if at all possible, documentation as to the degree of improvement in public understanding would be quite important and useful. Moreover, inasmuch as this is an AAPG award, the implication is that the public influence should be at least regional in scope (i. e., several states). If the impact can be judged to have a “multiplying effect” beyond the immediate locality or region, this could be an important consideration.

Procedure for Recommendation

Nominations for this award should be submitted (with proper documentation) on or before June 1 of any year to the Chairman of the Honors and Awards Committee at Association Headquarters. The recommendations of the Committee will be submitted to the Advisory Council who will submit their selection to the Executive Committee for final approval.

Description of Award

The award is a walnut plaque bearing the words, “For notable journalistic achievement in communications contributing to public understanding of geology.”


The award was inaugurated in 1972 by Executive Committee action. In 2006 the name of the award was changed by Executive Committee action from the Journalism Award to the Geosciences in the Media Award.

Geosciences in the Media Award
For assistance, email

Send additional documents to

Award Videos

10573 Added on

Geosciences in the Media Award recipients, 2011 to present. Click to watch videos.