Young Professionals Committee

The mission of the AAPG Young Professionals Committee is to:

  • Foster a challenging and successful career in the energy industry for recent college / university graduates and early career earth scientists.
  • Build an understanding of the value of a lasting relationship between AAPG and young professional members.
  • Encourage earth scientists to progress from Student to Associate to Member.

Accomplishing this mission will require:

  • Open communication with students about careers in earth science.
  • Identifying and serving early career needs of young earth scientists.
  • Providing opportunities for networking, career guidance, learning and enhancing professional competence.
  • Supporting and encouraging applications for Membership when eligibility requirements are met.
  • Encouraging young leaders to run as a Delegate candidate for their respective Region or Section.

The responsibilities of this Committee are to provide a series of unique services to AAPG young professional members, to retain and increase our current young professional membership, and to promote interaction and communication between AAPG student and young professional members.


Jonathan Patrick Allen Jonathan Patrick Allen FULL Co-Chair 2015-2018 Chevron
Meredith Faber Meredith Faber FULL Co-Chair 2015-2018 Noble Energy
Wan Ching Low Wan Ching Low Asia Pacific Co-Coordinator 2017-2020 Petronas
Reetu Ragini Reetu Ragini Asia Pacific Co-Coordinator 2015-2018 Schlumberger
Abdullah Alkandari Abdullah Alkandari Middle East Coordinator 2017-2020 Kuwait Oil Company
Joseph C. Bauman Joseph C. Bauman Southwest Coordinator 2015-2018 Hunt Oil Company
Brandi Denton Brandi Denton Pacific Coordinator 2015-2018 Chevron
Pierre Karam Pierre Karam Mid-Continent Coordinator 2015-2018
Maxim Kotenev Maxim Kotenev European Coordinator 2016-2018 Sasol Exploration and Production International
Marcelina Labaj Marcelina Labaj Canada Coordinator 2016-2019 Central European Petroleum
Ademola Olumide Lanisa Ademola Olumide Lanisa Africa Coordinator 2016-2018 TOTAL E&P NIGERIA
James Hunter Lockhart, II James Hunter Lockhart, II Gulf Coast Coordinator 2015-2018 BHP Billiton
Nikki Oliver Nikki Oliver Rocky Mountain Coordinator 2015-2018 The Discovery Group
Juan Carlos Quinto Juan Carlos Quinto Latin America Coordinator 2015-2018 BPZ Exploration & Production
Merril Julia Stypula Merril Julia Stypula Eastern Coordinator 2015-2018
Ryan Thomas Lemiski Ryan Thomas Lemiski Vice Chair 2015-2018
James S. McGhay James S. McGhay Executive Committee Liaison 2016-2017 Mid-Con Energy
Susie Nolen Susie Nolen Staff Liaison 2016-2099 AAPG Administration and Programs
Taron M. Graves Committee Member 2017-2017 AAPG
MANAGER MANAGER Committee Member 2017-2018