Regions Committee

The IRC is a coordinating committee ultimately designed to provide sustainable growth in International membership at a minimum of 5% annually and maximum target of 20% annually. The IRC should provide a forum for helping generate and establish multiple services for individual regions. This includes: 

  1. Recommend sites to the EC and AAPG staff for workshops, short courses, DL visits, field trips and regional conferences; 
  2. Provide local or regional AAPG affiliated societies and contacts to host above events; 
  3. Share best practices for hosting events; 
  4. Provide contacts for potential AAPG student chapters to AAPG staff; 
  5. Submit nominations to Advisory Council for elected officers, and honors and awards; 
  6. Consider sites for potential local offices which might be capable becoming financially self-sustaining, either in cooperation with other societies or strictly as AAPG. 
Carol Cain McGowen Carol Cain McGowen Staff Liaison 2006-2015 American Association of Petr. Geologists
Sa'id A. Al-Hajri Sa'id A. Al-Hajri Middle East President 2013-2015 Saudi Aramco
David C. Blanchard David C. Blanchard Africa President 2014-2016 Energy XXI
Keith Dennis Gerdes Keith Dennis Gerdes Europe President 2013-2015 Shell International E & P
Peter Desmond Grant Peter Desmond Grant Asia Pacific President 2015-2017 International Energy Solutions
Francois C. Marechal Francois C. Marechal Canada President 2013-2015 Quicksilver Resources Canada
Victor O. Ramirez Victor O. Ramirez Latin America President 2013-2015 Ecopetrol
Peter William Baillie Peter William Baillie Asia Pacific Past President 2014-2017 CGG
William Paul Bosworth William Paul Bosworth Africa President Elect 2014-2016 Apache Egypt Companies
Jonathan Craig Jonathan Craig Europe President Elect 2013-2015 ENI Exploration & Production Divison
Robert Kuchinski Robert Kuchinski Middle East President Elect 2013-2015 Weatherford
Victor H. Vega Victor H. Vega Latin America President Elect 2013-2015 Shell Americas
James S. McGhay James S. McGhay Committee Manager 2012-2015 Mid-Con Energy
John George Kaldi John George Kaldi Executive Committee Liaison 2013-2015 Australian School of Petroleum (ASP)
Chris A. Oglesby Chris A. Oglesby Asia Pacific Vice President 2015-2017 Mubadala Petroleum
Reetu Ragini Reetu Ragini Asia Pacific Secretary 2015-2017 Schlumberger
Michael McWalter Michael McWalter Asia Pacific Treasurer 2015-2017 Government of Papua New Guinea

Historical Information