Distinguished Lecture Committee

The function of the Distinguished Lecture Committee is to select lecturers and instructors speaking on important and timely geoscientific topics that provide knowledge transfer between the Association, affiliated societies, and academia and serve the educational needs of its members by providing outstanding lectures. To reach these goals the Distinguished Lecture Committee identifies topics that support science-based business decisions; showcases the state-of-the-art technology and concepts utilized in the oil and gas industry to academia; works with the Regions in developing a regional program of distinguished lectures; encourages lecturers to develop their presentations into proposals for Special Publications or into manuscripts to be submitted to the Bulletin; works with the Education Committee in encouraging lecturers to develop their presentations into workshops; works with other professional societies, such as SPE, SPWLA, SEG, and EAGE, in sponsoring inter-society distinguished lecturers.

Katherine Anne Giles Katherine Anne Giles Chair 2008-2014 University of Texas at El Paso
Ole J. Martinsen Ole J. Martinsen Chair 2008-2014 Statoil ASA
April Hastings April Hastings Staff Liaison 2013-2014 AAPG Foundation
Susan Smith Nash Susan Smith Nash Staff Liaison 2008-2014 AAPG
Lorry Oldefest Lorry Oldefest Staff Liaison 2012-2014 AAPG
Matthew David Jackson Matthew David Jackson Vice Chair 2011-2014 Imperial College
R. Craig Shipp, P.G. R. Craig Shipp, P.G. Vice Chair 2011-2014 Shell International E&P Inc
James S. McGhay James S. McGhay Committee Manager 2012-2015 Mid-Con Energy
John George Kaldi John George Kaldi Executive Committee Liaison 2013-2014 Australian School of Petroleum (ASP)
Salem Mohammed Al-Baker MEMBER 2013-2016 ADCO
Janok P. Bhattacharya MEMBER 2007-2016 McMaster University
Harris Scott Cander MEMBER 2010-2016 BP
Ross Alan Clark MEMBER 2010-2016 Kallisto Energy Corp.
Stephen Paul Cumella MEMBER 2011-2014
Thomas Edward Hearon, IV MEMBER 2011-2014
Martin A. Perlmutter MEMBER 2010-2016 Chevron
Michael Carl Pope MEMBER 2011-2014 Texas A&M
Greg Schoenborn MEMBER 2007-2016 Chevron
Toni Simo MEMBER 2010-2016 ExxonMobil Corporation
Mark David Sonnenfeld MEMBER 2004-2016 Whiting Petroleum Corp.
Carl Kristian Steffensen MEMBER 2004-2016 BP America Inc
Joann E. Welton MEMBER 2011-2014 Consultant - Retired ExxonMobil

Follow the Distinguished Lecture program