Cape Town Awardees

Winners have been announced for oral and poster technical presentations made at the AAPG International Conference and Exhibition in Cape Town, South Africa.

The winners will receive their awards June 7 in Denver during the opening session at this year’s AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition.

The award winners are:

Gabriel Dengo Memorial Award

(Best international paper)

  • Charlie Kerans, Department of Geosciences, University of Texas at Austin, for the paper “Carbonate Grainstone Geobody Occurrence and Organizations.”
Ziad Beydoun Award

(Best international poster)

  • George Pemberton, Murray Gingras and James MacEachern, for the poster “The Role of Bioturbation in Low Permeability Gas-Charged Reservoirs.”

Pemberton and Gingras are with the University of Alberta’s department of earth and atmospheric sciences, Edmonton, Canada, and MacEachern is with the earth sciences department at Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, Canada.

Pemberton was a 2008 AAPG Grover E. Murray Memorial Distinguished Educator award winner.

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

See Also: Blog – Learn

See Also: Explorer Emphasis

Explorer Was Working Thrustbelt Idea
Strickland had vision for Alberta Bakken Explorer Was Working Thrustbelt Idea
Resolution Undergoing Revolution
Wide azimuths combat salt 'blur' Resolution Undergoing Revolution

See Also: Explorer Regions and Sections

APPEX Regional Starts Strong
Inaugural event in Istanbul APPEX Regional Starts Strong

See Also: Short Course

Bill Hailey Memorial Short Course-Abilene
A Southwest Section AAPG Short Course Bill Hailey Memorial Short Course-Abilene