Matson, Braunstein Winners Announced

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

The best paper and poster award winners have been announced for presentations at the recent AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition in New Orleans.

♦ The George C. Matson Award, presented for the best oral presentation, goes to Satinder Chopra, with Arcis Corporation in Calgary, Canada, for the paper “Detecting Stratigraphic Features via Cross-Plotting of Seismic Discontinuity Attributes and Their Volume Visualization.”

His co-author was Kurt J. Marfurt, with the ConocoPhillips School of Geology and Geophysics at the University of Oklahoma, Norman, Okla.

Chopra has written five articles for the EXPLORER’s popular Geophysical Corner column, most recently in November 2009.

♦ The Jules Braunstein Award, presented for best poster presentation, goes to Eddy Lee, Craig Shipp, Willem Hack, J. Larry Gibson and Fa Dwan, for “Quantifying the Probability of Occurrence of Shallow Gas as a Geohazard.”

AAPG members Lee, Shipp and Gibson are with Shell International E&P, Houston, and AAPG member Dwan is with Shell E&P Technology, Houston. Hack is with Shell International E&P, Houston.

The awards will be presented at the opening session of the next annual convention, which will be held April 10-13 in Houston.  

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

See Also: Delegates Voice Article

Delegates Voice Article Divisions and Affiliated Societies Complimenting the Role of AAPG Complimenting the Role of AAPG Desktop /Portals/0/PackFlashItemImages/WebReady/bognar-john-q4-dv-2009.JPG?width=100&h=100&mode=crop&anchor=middlecenter&quality=75amp;encoder=freeimage&progressive=true 8918

See Also: Hedberg Program Paper

See Also: wwwUpdate Blog

wwwUpdate Blog is legitimate is legitimate Desktop 30401