Weimer Assumes AAPG Presidency

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

Paul Weimer, geology professor at the University of Colorado, assumed the presidency of AAPG on July 1.

Weimer is Bruce D. Benson Endowed Chair, University of Colorado (Boulder) and director of the Energy and Minerals Applied Research Center. He also is a consulting geologist.

His father, Robert J. Weimer, professor emeritus at the Colorado School of Mines, was the Sidney Powers Medal recipient in 1984 and served as AAPG president in 1991-92.

Joining Weimer on the Executive Committee is Edward A. “Ted” Beaumont, senior geologist with SM Energy in Tulsa, Okla., who recently was voted president-elect and will serve as AAPG president in 2012-13.

Beaumont holds a bachelor’s in geology from the University of New Mexico and a master’s from the University of Kansas. He served as an exploration geologist with Cities Service Oil Co. and was AAPG science director before becoming an independent consultant and later joining SM Energy.

Others elected to the 2011-12 Executive Committee are:

  • Vice president-Regions – Stuart D. Harker, Circle Oil Plc., Finchampstead, England.
  • Secretary – Denise M. Cox, Storm Energy, Panama City, Fla.

Both the vice president-Regions and secretary will serve for two years.

Remaining on the committee for the final year of their terms of office are:

  • Vice president-Sections – Marvin D. Brittenham, EnCana Oil & Gas (USA), Denver.
  • Treasurer – James S. McGhay, Mid-Con Energy, Tulsa.
  • Elected Editor Stephen E. Laubach, Bureau of Economic Geology, University of Texas at Austin, is serving the second year of a three-year term in office.

Also new on the committee will be Jeffrey W. Lund, Corridor Resources, Houston, who has assumed the chair of the House of Delegates.

Comments (0)


What Can I Do?

Add Item

Enter Notes:
* You must be logged in to name and customize your collection.
Recommend Recommend
Printable Version Printable Version Email to a friend Email to a friend

Image Gallery

Advisory Council Members Announced for 2011-12

Members of the 2011-12 AAPG Advisory Council are:

  • David G. Rensink (chair) Houston.
  • John C. Lorenz, Edgewood, N.M.
  • Scott W. Tinker, Austin, Texas.
  • Stephen M. Testa (president-EMD), Mokelumne Hill, Calif.
  • Douglas C. Peters (president-DEG), Golden, Colo.
  • Martin D. Hewitt (president-DPA), Plano, Texas.
  • David H. Hawk (immediate past chair-HoD), Boise, Idaho.
  • Kurt E. Neher (Pacific Section), Bakersfield, Calif.
  • Donna S. Anderson (Rocky Mountain Section), Golden, Colo.
  • David C. Harris (Eastern Section), Lexington, Ky.
  • Mary E. Broussard (Gulf Coast Section), Lafayette, La.
  • Martha Lou Broussard (Gulf Coast Section), Houston.
  • Debra P. Osborne (Southwest Section), Midland, Texas.
  • Robert D. Cowdery (Mid-Continent Section), Wichita, Kan.
  • Jean R. Gerard (Europe Region), Madrid, Spain.
  • Paul J. English (Canada Region), Calgary, Canada.
  • Peter W. Baillie (Asia/Pacific Region), Singapore.
  • Fowzia Hussien Abdullah (Middle East Region), Safat, Kuwait.

The representatives for the Latin America and Africa Regions will be named at a later date.